First Days - Reisverslag uit Denpasar, Indonesië van Anne - WaarBenJij.nu First Days - Reisverslag uit Denpasar, Indonesië van Anne - WaarBenJij.nu

First Days

Door: Anne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

03 Februari 2014 | Indonesië, Denpasar

To give you kind of an idea of what Bali looks like, compared to the Netherlands it can be seen as chaotic I suppose, but as I went to India before I think traffic is rather organized and poverty is not as bad as in India (obviously). Furthermore it is extremely hot and super humid (climbing 8 stairs every day is already an exercise on its own) and till so far we had two out of three nights thunder and rain in the afternoon/evening.

I arrived Saturday evening in Denpasar, Bali. With just a quick stop in Singapore the flight was pretty okay and after 23 hours of travelling I was able to open the door of my new home by 11am. After a jump in the pool and some beers with the others I went to bed rather early to wake up bright and shiny the next morning.

On Sunday Mats, Ricardo, Saar and me went to Kuta beach. Unfortunately half of the beach was covered with plastic (floating its way from Java to Bali I’ve been told), lots and lots of people tried to rip us off (probably because we were by far most the whitest people on the beach..) and the waves were too high to swim in. But still, we saw the ocean and we experienced the heat of the sun! (I forgot the put sun screen around my eyes so I think you can imagine how I look like now..) In the afternoon we had a quick meeting regarding our first school day etc. and after some time we finally decided to stay at the hotel for dinner as it was pouring rain. I think this was the first time I had to wait 2 full hours for the dinner that I ordered! Nevertheless, it was good food and aaalmost worth waiting for.

Today, Monday, we had our first school day! We are with a big group of Grand Tour students, around 100 I suppose of which 94 are Event Management students, but still university changed the banner to welcome us in ‘Welcome Grand Tour students’ instead of ‘Welcome Event Management students’. As I, together with four other guys, will study Strategic Management we were pretty pleased by this fact. After two traditional ceremonies (dance and food), a nice lunch and some free time to fix our SIM cards there was one hour for third parties to explain all leisure activities around Bali. Although I kinda had in mind what I want to do these upcoming months, these presentations really got me excited! So at the moment I’m thinking of getting my PADI diving certificate, to learn how to surf and do some actual surfing, to start with Yoga and to start crossfit again. (I’m not sure about crossfit though as it is freaking hot (minimum of 30 degrees) and humid (70-90%) around here). In addition, I want to learn the language (I’m already busy trying to learn the words ‘thank you’ which is ‘terima kasih’ for two days now and it’s not going so well, I constantly .. with temaki – probably I had too much sushi) and see parts of Bali, Java and maybe Singapore. And like this isn’t enough, Mats and I were thinking of going to Australia for the last three weeks after school has finished.

Oh yea and to end this awesome story, we had some great food today for 21.000 IDR which is just € 1,34. I think we should make this our standards..

So my first story so far. Tomorrow I will be able to give you my Balinese phone number and I will give you another update by the end of this week.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 03 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 994
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2105

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Februari 2014 - 09 Juli 2014

Loving Bali

Landen bezocht: